ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2015 | History, Teams, Winner

The eleventh edition of ICC ODI Cricket World Cup was hosted by Australia and New Zealand in 2015.

It was the second time that the Southern hemisphere was hosting the competition. Just like in 1996 & 2011, the quarter-final format was used in the tournament.

Two groups of seven each were formed, the group A included both the co-hosts Australia and New Zealand, Bangladesh, England, Sri Lanka & the two associates Afghanistan and Scotland, the Afghanis were making their maiden ODI World Cup appearance.

Group B consisted of India, Pakistan, South Africa, West Indies, Ireland, United Arab Emirates and Zimbabwe, UAE appearing for the second time in World Cup.

Led by the aggressive Brendon McCullum, New Zealand played with a lot of confidence to win all the six group games. England and Sri Lanka were no match for the Kiwis and the matches against Bangladesh and Scotland both ended in 3-wicket wins for the black caps.

The match between Trans-Tasman rivals proved to be a thriller at Eden Park in Auckland. A Trent Boult’s fifer restricted Aussies to 151, Mitchell Starc replied with 6 wickets but the cool-headed Kane Williamson ensured a nervy 1-wicket victory.

Australia lost only against New Zealand but also dropped a point against Bangladesh as the Brisbane weather didn’t allow a single delivery to be bowled.

Otherwise, Australia won all the matches with ease, a brutal hundred by Glenn Maxwell against Sri Lanka at SCG, Aaron Finch set up the win against England with a hundred and David Warner destroyed Afghanistan with 178 in Perth.

The last win for Kangaroos was against the Scottish in Hobart. The Sri Lankans though lost against both the hosts but won the remaining four matches to qualify for the last eight.

Against England in Wellington, Lahiru Thirimanne and Kumar Sangakkara scored hundreds to overcome England’s total of 309. Kumar Sangakkara hit a purple patch as he scored 4 hundreds in 4 consecutive games.

England lost convincingly against the big teams but then came the biggest shock as Bangladesh beat England by 15 runs in Adelaide.

Bangladesh qualified for the quarterfinal with 7 points while England faced exit along with Afghanistan and Scotland. The Afghanis did register their first world cup win as they beat Scots by 1 wicket at University Oval in Dunedin.

In group B, India topped the table by winning 6 out of six. The men in blue beat Pakistan in Adelaide, Virat Kohli’s century proved vital in victory against arch-rivals.

Shikhar Dhawan scored hundreds in the victories against Ireland and South Africa. Against Zimbabwe, India were faltering at 92/4 while chasing 288, Suresh Raina scored a hundred as he and MS Dhoni sealed the win with a 196-run partnership.

South Africa registered four convincing victories which enabled them to finish 2nd at the expense of Pakistan. The margin of wins for South Africa were 62 runs against Zimbabwe, a humongous 257 runs vs West Indies, 201 runs vs Irish and 146 against the Emirates.

Against Windies, AB de Villiers wreaked havoc as he scored 162 off just 66 deliveries. Pakistan started disastrously as they lost their first two matches by big margins, 76 runs vs India and 150 runs against West Indies.

Against Zimbabwe in Brisbane, Pakistan were tottering at 155/6 before a Wahab Riaz half-century enabled Pakistan to finish at 235. Zimbabwe at 128/3 had the game in control but eventually fell short by 20 runs.

The batting hero Wahab Riaz took four wickets to take the player of the match award. After winning against UAE, Pakistan faced South Africa at Eden Park. The rain reduced each innings to 47 overs as Pakistan scored 222 and the adjusted target for South Africa was 232.

Pakistan kept on taking wickets at regular intervals but it became Pakistan vs AB de Villiers as the South African captain attacked the Pakistani bowling with his customary hitting. His dismissal, the 9th wicket to fall was the end for Proteas as Pakistan won by 29 runs to register first victory against South Africa in ODI World Cup.

Sarfraz Ahmed playing his first game of the tournament scored 49 and took 6 dismissals. Pakistan’s fourth win came against Ireland in Adelaide. Ireland and West Indies fought for the quarterfinal spot, both finished with 3 wins and it was West Indies who made it to the last eight courtesy a healthier NRR.

The head-to-head clash between the two was won by Ireland as they hunted 304 of West Indies at Saxton Oval in Nelson. Against Zimbabwe, Chris Gayle became the first batsman to score a double hundred in world cup.

Zimbabwe finished with 2 points and UAE finished at the bottom with no win. Zimbabwean batsman Brendan Taylor scored hundreds against India and Ireland in consecutive games.

The first qaurter-final was played between South Africa and Sri Lanka at Sydney cricket ground. Sri Lanka scored just 133 as JP Duminy became the first South African to take a hat-trick in a World Cup match.

The out of form Quinton de Kock scored an unbeaten 78 as the Proteas won the game by 9 wickets. This was the first ever win for South Africa in a World Cup knockout match. The All-Asian quarterfinal at MCG resulted in a 109-run win for India against Bangladesh. Australia beat Pakistan by 6 wickets to qualify for the semi-final.

Adelaide Oval hosted the QF where a hot spell by Wahab Riaz did create some excitement but otherwise Australia had no trouble in beating Pakistan.

New Zealand scored a colossal 393 in the quarterfinal clash against West Indies in Wellington. Martin Guptill scored 237, highest individual score in world cup history. New Zealand won by 143 runs to seal the semi-final berth.

New Zealand faced South Africa in the semi-final at Eden Park in Auckland, a game reduced to 43 overs a side. The black caps needed 298 to win and both sides gave their all to clinch victory.

Grant Elliott hit a six off penultimate ball to win the match for Kiwis. Elliott scored an unbeaten 84 as New Zealand won the semi-final of ODI World Cup on 7th attempt. Australia vs India was the second semi-final at Sydney cricket ground.

India’s nemesis Steve Smith scored a hundred as Australia scored 328/7. India’s unbeaten journey in the world cup came to an end as the home team won by 95 runs to book a place in the final.

So, both the two co-hosts and neighbors Australia and New Zealand faced each other in the world cup final on 29th of March at Melbourne cricket ground. The final turned out to be a one-sided affair as New Zealand crawled their way to just 183.

Mitchell Starc set the tone as he dismissed Brendon McCullum for a duck in the very first over. Australia lost just 3 wickets as Michael Clarke led his side to victory in the. final, Clarke top scored for Australia with 74.

James Faulkner received the player of the match award in the final. Thus, the Aussies won the world cup for a record 5th time and all 5 world cup titles for Australia had come in five different continents.

The two left-armers, Mitchell Starc and Trent Boult with 22 wickets each ended up as the leading wicket takers of the tournament, Starc picked up the player of the tournament award as well. Martin Guptill with 547 runs emerged as the leading run-scorer of the event.

Leave a Comment