ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2019 | History, Teams, Winner

The ICC ODI Cricket World Cup came to England for its twelfth edition in 2019. It was the fifth time that England was hosting the premier cricketing event and the first since 1999.

The ICC reduced the number of teams to just 10 and the 92 world cup format was used where each team played a match against all other sides followed by the semi-finals and final.

The ten participating teams were Afghanistan, 5-time winners and defending champions Australia, Bangladesh, hosts and favorites England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

India topped the points table as they won 7, lost 1 and 1 match ending with both teams sharing the points, India’s points tally was 15. Rohit Sharma became the first batsman to score 5 hundreds in a single ODI World Cup.

The least fancied Afghanis went neck to neck with Indians before Mohammed Shami produced a hat-trick to avoid the upset defeat. India’s only loss in the round-robin came against England at Edgbaston.

Shikhar Dhawan scored a hundred in the victory against Australia but he picked up an injury which ruled him out of the tournament.

Australia came second on the table with 14 points. Mitchell Starc consistently provided wickets to the Aussies and David Warner scored heavily in their smooth campaign. Skipper Aaron Finch scored match-winning hundreds against England and Sri Lanka.

Australia won the high-intensity match against their rivals England at Lord’s and against West Indies they won after being 79/5 in first innings. England, New Zealand and Pakistan fought for the remaining 2 slots.

England started with a win against South Africa in the opening match of the tournament & then won against Afghanistan, Bangladesh and West Indies as well but the home team suffered three defeats which put them in a must-win situation in last two matches.

Jonny Bairstow struck hundreds in both the crucial games, against India in Birmingham and New Zealand in Chester-le-street. Against Afghanistan, English skipper Eoin Morgan hit 17 sixes in his innings of 148 off just 71 balls.

The 4th semi-final spot went to New Zealand who pipped Pakistan on net run rate. Both the sides finished with 11 points each but Pakistan’s heavy defeat against West Indies cost them the qualification.

New Zealand on the other hand registered convincing wins against Afghanistan and Sri Lanka which eventually proved vital in their qualification. Kane Williamson led his side brilliantly and scored match-winning tons against South Africa and West Indies.

New Zealand vs West Indies game ended with Windies falling 5 runs short of the target, Carlos Braithwaite delighted the Old Trafford crowd with an exciting hundred before he was caught on the boundary going for the winning shot.

Trent Boult took hat-trick against Aussies but the Kangaroos won the game against their neighbors. Pakistan won a high-scoring match against England at Trent Bridge where even hundreds from Joe Root and Jos Buttler weren’t enough for the victory.

Pakistan lost against India for the 7th time in ODI world cup and then lost against Australia as well. Pakistan came back strongly in the last 4 matches to win all but a negative net run rate and other results showed the exit door to Pakistan.

Pakistan’s last 4 wins included the one against South Africa at Lord’s, against New Zealand at Edgbaston on the back of hundred by Babar Azam and a crucial 68 by Haris Sohail, against Afghanistan at Headingley where Imad Wasim won the game with the bat and vs Bangladesh at Lord’s.

Sri Lanka’s two matches ended without a positive result due to rain, against Bangladesh and Pakistan. Sri Lanka’s best win of the world cup came against England in Leeds as powerful English batting line-up failed to chase a target of 233.

Sri Lanka finished 6th with 8 points. Bangladesh beat Afghanistan and South Africa and also hammered West Indies but 7 points overall showed a disappointing performance. South Africa finished with 7 points as well as the Proteas didn’t threaten the semi-final qualification.

South Africans finished the tournament on a higher note when they beat Australia in their last match at Old Trafford. West Indies ended up with just 2 wins, one a hammering of Pakistan and the other one against Afghanistan.

Afghanistan had a winless campaign, though they threatened upsets against both India and Pakistan but inexperience on the big stage cost them the matches.

So, the semi-finals started with the first one between India and New Zealand at Old Trafford in Manchester. The rain hadn’t permitted a single delivery in the round-robin clash between the two.

New Zealand batted first after winning the toss, Kane Williamson and Ross Taylor batted with patience but the lower order of Kiwis failed to provide the flourish at the end and they finished at 239. India had a disastrous start to the run-chase as the pace attack of New Zealand ripped through the Indian top order.

From 72/6, MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja pulled things back for India with a century partnership. Trent Boult ended Jadeja’s innings and a direct hit by Martin Guptill ended MS Dhoni’s knock as India fell 18 runs short of the target.

The second semi-final saw Australia facing their Ashes rivals England at Edgbaston in Birmingham. Australia managed just 223 with Steve Smith’s 85 the highest score of the innings. Jason Roy & Jonny Bairstow responded with a 124-run opening stand as England took just 32.1 overs to overcome the Australian total.

So, on 14th of July the final of the twelfth world cup was played between England and New Zealand at home of cricket Lord’s.

Kane Williamson won the toss and decided to bat first, a disciplined bowling performance by England restricted the black caps to 241.

England lost their 4th wicket on 86 but then a century partnership between Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler made England overwhelming favorites. However, New Zealand came back with regular strikes and it came down to 15 needed from the final over with 8 wickets down.

Trent Boult started with 2 dots, Stokes hit a six off 3rd and then came the drama of deflection off Stokes on 4th delivery that gave England six runs. The last two deliveries saw two run-outs but England completed a run on both the deliveries. So, the final became one of the greatest matches of all-time as it went to the super over.

Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler scored 15 off Trent Boult, New Zealand sent in Jimmy Neesham and Martin Guptill to face Jofra Archer. The Kiwis needed 2 from the final ball to win the title but Martin Guptill failed to beat Jason Roy’s throw while going for the second run.

The super over also ended in a tie but the boundary count rule was in favor of England, 26 by England and New Zealand 17. So, after a thrilling encounter and a tightest finish, England were crowned world champions for the very first time.

Ben Stokes won the player of the match award for his cool performance with the bat. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson deservedly won the player of the tournament award for his 578 runs and marshalling his troops brilliantly throughout the event.

Rohit Sharma with 648 was the leading run-scorer of the tournament. Mitchell Starc took 27 wickets, the most in any world cup and he also became the first bowler to finish as the leading wicket-taker in two ODI World Cups.

Leave a Comment